#1 BSLSteveBirrer

BSLSteveBirrer

Soccer Analyst

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,266 posts
  • LocationMS and ID

Posted 05 February 2024 - 05:29 PM

Been a bit of discussion about how the new ownership is likely to make extending players a more possible plan given that overall payroll is likely to go up. So thought I'd start a topic specifically about this because I think while its possible I wonder to what extent. And more importantly just who do you try and extend.

Here's some obvious candidates:

Burnes

Henderson

Rutschman

Holliday

Grod

Bradish

Means

Then this doesn't even account for guys like Santander, Mullins, and the up and comers. 

Of course their agent plays into this discussion but even taking that aside it looks pretty clear to me that we have a fairly large number of guys that you could make a pitch for extending and I think its going to take some navigation to figure that out.

This is a good problem to have and one of the reasons I am a retired engineer and Elias gets the big bucks......lol.

#2 BSLChrisStoner

BSLChrisStoner

Owner

• Administrators
  • 156,152 posts

Posted 05 February 2024 - 05:52 PM

I think the O's will spend like a mid-tier and above team going forward.

They'll make an offer to Burnes after the year I believe, and if the Summer / Fall is as fun as we think it might be; that might happen.
Of course he will likely want to test FA, and maybe he has somewhere he would like to be.

Henderson and Holiday should be current priorities 1 and 1a.

Given the cost of pitching, I'd be tempted to do something with Rodriguez... but you do have control there, and there is always the injury risk. Love Bradish, but he's a little bit older. You could offer him something I guess to buy out the first couple years of FA.

I think Adley will get done.

Means, Mullins... see how the year goes before thinking of any deals. (Can Means stay on the mound, is Mullins better than the last two years?)