It was 100% the right call. You can't treat it any different than you treat the third race on a Wednesday in January. He clearly hurt the chances of the 1 and the 18, and that's the determining factor. Once the #18 lodged the objection, it was a no brainer. You can clearly see the #18 horse suddenly stop and actually veer up and then fade to finish 17th.
It was a very easy decision and only took 22 minutes because it's a brutal spot to put the stewards in. Rules are rules, whether it's the Derby or as I said earlier, the third race on a Wednesday.
As one of the last 13 die hard Horse Racing fans in the country, I know it's a black eye for the sport, but it was the right call.
I don't like the "you can't make that call in that spot" like of thinking. If it was an infraction, then it was, and has to be called. I'll defer to the experts like yourself who are calling it the right call.
Besides, the favorite winning the derby the last what, seven times, is boring. Mix it up a little.